Kubecon: Detroit. Beta 1.

October 31, 2022 ยท 4 minutes read

Oct 24-28, 2022

The backstory

I have previously had a difficult time at large tech conferences.

  1. The loud noise environment. I am extremely sensitive to sound.
  2. The quantity of content that I’m trying to consume.
  3. Massive imposter syndrome (So many talks about so many things I don’t know anything about). See #2.
  4. Feeling overwhelmed and disconnected while surrounded by people.

I attempted to devise a scenario where I would attend a tech conference and enjoy myself. Here were my goals:

  1. No talk tech (at a tech conference).
  2. Connect with new people in a meaningful or amusing way.

Talking this through with my wife, we developed the basic structure of having prompts on a foam board. The design would signal that I’m creating a safe space to have a quick and engaging or entertaining point of connection. I would prominently put “no tech talk” on the foam board and a nameplate (which I could point to when someone started talking tech).

no tech talk nameplate

I then workshopped the idea with friends and co-workers, giving it a name, a logo, a number of prompts, a website, and an app to track all the metrics of the connections I would have.

I rode a wave of motivation and enthusiasm to implement the idea and bring it to KubeCon Detroit.

I had planned a beta to test the idea locally, but then I got COVID, and the universe laughed at my plans.

What happened

I set up next to our booth in the incubator section of the massive exhibit hall, donned my “You Are Interesting” gear, and stood on the enormous carpet for 1.5 conference days.

Standing at Kubecon

I clocked in 30 connections on my little app. Having notes them was very helpful when reviewing the data 3 months later, bringing me back to most of them.

One person had lost their voice, and I held most of the conversation, having them mime responses. One fellow was very clear that his ultimate goal was to die of boredom. One guy invited me to go smoke a joint at 5pm. One lady did every single prompt in succession.

A few of the connections were pretty deep, people surprisingly opening up and busting out of conference mode. A few people were enthusiastic about the idea, bolstering my confidence. Most people ignored me or only gave me a flicker of eye contact.

What did I learn?

Big, obvious stuff:

  1. I was so excited by the idea and riding such momentum that I lost track that an enormous Kubernetes conference was not the correct venue for a goofy performance art project. No one is there for discovery.
  2. It was both energizing and draining.
  3. The app is secondary to being present.
  4. Don’t have a “no tech talk” at a tech conference. I did that because it amused me, but I realized that creating friction interacting with randos opposed my goal. I got rid of the nameplate and covered up the verbiage for the second day. Standing at Kubecon Day 2

What I discovered:

  1. I really like this idea. There’s something there for me.
  2. I built the app in streamlit, both because it related to my job and seemed like a fun learning experience. It was the wrong choice. I should use an actual SPA framework.
  3. I love being IRL.

Next time:

  1. Have some friends to do it with.
  2. Find a venue that allows for discovery.
  3. Rebuild the app in a SPA framework.

I was proud of myself afterward. I boldly stepped outside my comfort zone and manifested something new. I put myself in a situation where I was out of control of the sound environment, which is a big stretch for me. No one was going to celebrate it for me, so I did.

The whole conference week was a big adventure. The best connections I made were with my co-workers. We are spread out throughout the world, and this opportunity allowed us to spend quality time together.

I love how the idea evolved. It began as a way to find a way to enjoy myself at a tech conference. Ultimately it became a project about fun and connection, which is what I am about these days. I’m excited to see what I can do with it with my friends and family.


Times Circle Terminal User Astronaut Download View preview Facebook Go get it GitHub Alternate GitHub Guitar headphones Donate Instagram Learn more LinkedIn Menu Check Circle rocket Space Shuttle Spotify Twitter angle-right Warning YouTube